Skip to content

One State, One Love

March 28, 2010

I know I will catch a lot of flack for this, but I do not understand this “rule” that if you are in a state with more than one team in the same sport and level, you must choose one or the other, but absolutely can not root for both. I have run into this issue rooting for The University of Michigan Wolverines and  the Michigan State Spartans.  A big No No.

This is one of the most ridiculous rules of sports that I can think of. Inner-state hatred is absurd. That’s like, light-skinned blacks hating dark-skinned blacks. If I am from the great state of Michigan, how can I hate a part of it?

Here is a response that I wrote to someone who accused me of being an embarrassment for rooting for both teams:

“Not that I have to defend myself, but I don’t believe in that crap. I root for UM first and foremost. State has always been my second favorite. If they go against each other, I pull for UM hands down over all other teams.
Since I was a kid and didn’t know I was supposed to “hate” anything I’ve rooted for all HOME schools. U of D, Central, UM, State. MI hasn’t had a team in B ball since the fab 5. What am i supposed to do, root for someone outside the state against a home team? I don’t believe in that. I will always root for the state of Michigan teams over any other state. Your fault if you lose sleep over that.

MSU is elite. Izzo pisses success. I said it. Go tell it.”

There are times when it is appropriate to root against teams that are “related”. For instance, I root against the Packers, Bears, and Vikings, because it makes a difference in the standings for my LIONS. I root against the White Sox , KC and the Twins because it makes a difference in the standings for the Tigers.  Trust me, whenever the Wolverines go against the Spartans, I root against the Spartans because my first love is UM. But UM has no squad and State winning does nothing to hurt an already uncompetitive UM team.

I have been rooting for the Spartans for years, and will continue to do so as long as it doesn’t hurt my Wolverines.

From → Controversy, Sports

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

